Home > In the News, Israel Tour > israel and haiti on my mind

israel and haiti on my mind

We heard about Haiti when we were in Israel.

They said 40,000 people dead.  They said “Haiti turned to rubble”.

But it didn’t really sink in until we returned home.

Maybe our capacity to be overwhelmed was already overwhelmed by everything we were seeing and experiencing in that amazing place 7000 miles from home.

Whatever it was, something about the experience of being in Israel and actually seeing the places that I had previously only imagined as I read my Bible … well, something just changed.  An internal lock was sprung.

I don’t know how to explain it but the same way that Israel arrested my mind, captivated my attention – now Haiti has similarly arrested and captivated me.

Words are lacking to adequately explain, so for the time being I will leave that thought as it is, incomplete.

. . . . . .

Allow me a postscript, in order to point you to your own exploration of this odd parallel universe my mind, heart, and prayers never seem far from these days.

First, follow the links below to a series of emotionally devastating photo essays on Haiti, brilliantly assembled by the people at one of my favorite photo-media websites, The Boston Globe’s Big Picture (the most graphic images are blacked out):

Haiti, Earthquake in Haiti

Haiti, 48 Hours Later

Haiti, 6 Days Later

Haiti, “Faces of Haiti”

Second, check out a wonderful slideshow of photos (all taken by Beth) that Beth has posted on Picasa from our first full day in Israel.  Below are a couple of my favorites, just to make the end of this post a bit less dreary than the start:

View from Mt Carmel over the Valley of Jezreel (also known as the Plain of Armageddon)

Tile mosaic in Herod's Palace, located at Caesaria by the Sea. Mosaic is from same structure as the famous "Praetorium of Herod" (where Paul was held prisoner in Acts 23).

These are all the salad options we could eat with our falafel gyros at the first place we ate lunch - the food was this-blows-my-mind good

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

