Home > Around the house > genesis of a fire pit

genesis of a fire pit

Once, a long time ago, a “fire pit” was actually a pit filled with fire.

Thankfully, society has begun to think outside of the pit – to reconfigure new ways to contain a hot mass of embers and flaming log, but to do it in such a way that the charm of the phrase “fire pit” remains.

“How could this be possible?”

This is a question that you probably have in mind at this very moment.

Fortunately for me, some questions simply have no answer, so rather than giving you a history lesson on the phrase “fire pit” I will give you a photo essay on the non-pit “fire pit” that now resides in my back yard:

1.  The Solid Foundation

Concrete pavers neatly packed on an even patch of ground excavated by Mike Evans and myself

2. The Magic Circle

Some have been foolish enough to attempt the construction of a beautiful “fire pit” without prior planning, that planning demands that you draw a healthy circle (“the fire”) on your sturdy foundation of well laid concrete pavers.

3. The Dry Run

Even more foolish still are those masons of “fire pits” who haul stones all the way to their backyard, unnecessarily, and fail to utilize the driveway to build a beautiful “faux fire pit”  directly beside their pile of stones (this prevents unnecessary back strain).

4. Relocation

Now that the “fire pit” is magnificently assembled in the driveway, it is time to relocate the stone structure and reassemble the stones – thereby rendering the “faux fire pit” faux no mo’.

5. The Inspection

Add the last level of stone and then call the professionals – make sure an expert reviews your work for thoughtless mistakes and aesthetic flaws.

6. Fire in the Pit

Having removed the little baby from the “fire pit” (!!!!), it is now time to pillage construction sites and trash cans for waste scrap wood to ignite a glorious fire and, thereby, christen the “fire pit” and enjoy the beauty of flickering flames dancing between the stones.

And therein is the genesis of the “fire pit” (that lives in my backyard)

. . . . . .

Anybody want to come roast marshmallows and drink coffee or hot chocolate?

Anybody have tree stumps they want to donate for my viewing comfort as I sit on them and watch the fire?

Anybody want to tell the story of their very own fire pit?

. . . . . .

Photo credits to Mike Evans (or “My Kevins” as Beth prefers to pronounce it)

  1. jason
    December 18, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    Hi. My name is Jason. I’m a full fledged “fire-pit-aholic.”. I have not attended a 10 step recovery program. I am not seeking help. I will indulge myself in your fire pit to the maximum amount of enjoyment possible.

  2. My Kevins
    December 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    Lee, while your design seems flawless, I believe that you lack some ‘glue’ to hold that fortress together. Can I offer some assistance in your plight?
    Fires are friends,
    Mike

  3. December 18, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I receive both offers of indulgence and assistance.

    I will not assist with any sort of program to ween no man off of fire pit addiction.

    This is my pledge!

  4. December 18, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Just curious about your concrete “fire pit” bottom. I am a welder, and when I heat up concrete like that when I have to cut steel next to it, chunks of it explode off the surface. Any explosions experienced?

    Bret

  5. December 18, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    No explosions yet, but there is still time.

    If there are any explosions I will update and blame it on the inspection.

  6. mattgpitts
    December 18, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    I would love to join you at your fire pit. Maybe some day we’ll make it to Tennessee again…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

