Home > Church > are you serious? is this a joke?

are you serious? is this a joke?

I had a chat with a good friend tonight – she told me about her two Somali friends who were assaulted by other Somali refugees.

m29_19123521

A Somali woman tends to her seven year-old son who was wounded by a stray bullet on May 24, 2009 as they sit inside a medical tent that was set up by Ugandan soldiers at one of their bases in Mogadishu, Somalia. (ROBERTO SCHMIDT/AFP/Getty Images)

She told me about her roommate who spends her days driving up and down the tracks picking up prostitutes and ministering to them.

She told me she lives in an apartment of 5 girls, in a bad part of town, that all do the same kinds of ministries.

She told me about a Somali woman who told her she was going to hell for believing the things she does about Jesus … right before she told her “I promise I will listen to you next time.”

My friend, she had to raise her own support to do this ministry … to live in a dangerous area … to love on the least of these, the aliens, the sojourners … to make the gospel known to them.

She doesn’t get a pay check – she gets to watch her savings account dwindle and, when it’s all gone, she has to find something else to do.

Are you kidding me?

As I drove home from the party where I got to spend time with my friend, I had about 25 thoughts – most of which were hypercritical and not worth repeating.  What my mind came back to time and time again as I drove was the word “bloated”.

Bloated Christians. Bloated Churches. Bloated Institutions.

Bloated and slowly dying from self-inflicted gluttony.

. . . . . .

Can we just agree that we live in an upside down world?

Can we just agree to listen to Jesus, to obey him, and to be a part of his work in flipping this world back right-side-up?

Can we just agree to stop gorging ourselves?

Can somebody just fork up some cash and set my friend free to do crazy gospel-driven ministry to the refugees of Memphis, TN?

Can we just agree that its not supposed to be this way – not for God’s people?

Well, can we?

  1. Brian Denker
    November 7, 2009 at 8:56 am

    yes. a thousand times, yes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

