Home > Church Planting > anger: a proper response to this email?

anger: a proper response to this email?

Picture 15

I try not to say anything that might be construed as disparaging anybody, but I just got this email and I am going to take the (small) risk that I should obscure the sender of the email.

Just to be careful, I am not going to include the specific individual’s name … only his organization’s name.

Here’s the email (I have bolded some key phrases)

. . . . . .

Fr: N– S–
Re: I’m concerned

Lee,

I’m writing because I’m concerned about you.

For the last three months you’ve been hearing about my Senior Pastors Tele-Coaching Network that begins NEXT WEEK on Thursday, Aug 20.  This network is all about helping you and your church go to the next level of growth and impact.

I’ve done everything I can to tell you about this network . . . I sent you a 30-minute Q & A video . . .I sent you the unedited testimonies from those who just completed the network . . . plus several other email and mailed invitations for you to apply. . . . but I still don’t see your name on the application list!

Frankly, I find that puzzling.

Look, if you are interested in seeing your church grow and your leadership ability increase, I urge you to apply right now . . . .  stop whatever you are doing and go to this Web site, download and complete the application:

http://www.ChurchLeaderInsights.com/telecoaching

Listen, the average participant in last year’s network saw 30% growth in their weekend attendance!  I am blown away!  While I can’t promise this kind of growth for your church, it is possible.  I’ve seen it first hand.

In addition, the average pastor tells me the network fully pays for itself within four to six months so the financial investment in minimal compared to the return you will experience.

. . . even more, I offer a full no-hassle 100% money back guarantee anytime before the fourth network session so there’s no risk to give it a try.

Here’s the link, go ahead and apply right now.
—>  http://www.ChurchLeaderInsights.com/telecoaching

Don’t miss out.

N– S–

. . . . . .

Please, please tell me if I am wrong or unfair here – but is this well known pastor and church planter chastising me for not taking advantage his coaching program?

Is he questioning my desire to be a better leader and reach more people with the gospel because I am not interested in his program?

Frankly, I find it puzzling that anybody would have the gall to send out an email like this.

If this is supposed to be a “tongue-in-cheek” sort of thing – its in bad taste … especially with a complete stranger.

There is a whole list of things that I want to say in response to this email – but I think I am going to bite my tongue for the moment and not make any regrettable comments.

. . . . . .

Feel free to correct me, ask questions, or contribute your own thoughts in the comments section below, but try to avoid saying anything regrettable.

  1. August 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

    Listen… ok…and just look, because frankly he’s just contacting you because he’s concerned about you… Even more he offers to give you your money back. Frankly….. I find that puzzling and I am blown away!

    Holy crap you know Im kidding. But seriously, that dude is using some aggressive verbage there.

  2. August 11, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I read the guy’s book and he definitely has a weird sense of humor … but, poor attempt to be funny or not, this email was in really poor taste.

    If I am looking for a church planting coach to help me “grow my church” – I am looking elsewhere, that’s for sure.

  3. August 11, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Whether your growth barrier is 125, 250, 500, 1000 or beyond, this network is designed to help you break through!

    Lee, why wouldnt you sign up? Listen, frankly Im just blown away and concerned for you. Dont you know that NOTHING can accelerate your growth or the growth of your church like being in a coaching network!

    You can also take advantage of private “call-in” times with N-S- to have your specific questions answered in more detail, as well as private day-long meeting with N-S-, exclusively for tele-coaching participants (location to be determined).

    Why wouldnt you signup? Frankly, you better reassess yourself if you dont want to join in this coaching network. As a leader committed to growing yourself and your church, you’ve seen the positive effects of books, workshops and seminars. But you also know there is potential for even more.

  4. logsatm04
    August 11, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Lee,

    For 3 $29.99 installments I’ll provide you with sermon critiques and assist your tweeting and blogging to create as much traffic as possible and for an additional 2 installments of $49.99, I’ll show you how to create a good youth ministry that people’s kids would love to go to. It’s a special offer, so act now, don’t hesitate.

    It includes my book “10 Ways to Create a Bestselling Christian Novel” for free and a special preview booklet “21 Steps to a Great Curriculum”. Act now though, they’re going fast.

    Sounds like this guy has a definition of success that leaps away from scripture. Run and run now. Send him the growth parables about a small seed that grows into a giant tree. Ask him where his method fits in. Please do this, for my benefit.

  5. Cory Taylor
    August 11, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Firstly, having worked in a (relatively-) megachurch, whose senior pastor is going back for his second doctorate, this one in Church Growth, I can assure you: this stuff is rampant. People will do ANYTHING to look good, so long as it doesn’t require effort or sacrifice (like being true to the Gospel).

    Secondly, I think it’s okay to be righteously indignant at such things. Not being angry for the sake of it, but being lovingly indignant to bring such people back to the Gospel.

    Thirdly, it was probably a form e-mail some secretary sent. There’s no point in sending a nasty or convicting e-mail back, because he’ll most likely never see it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

