Home > Church, on Blogging > experiment in blogging: you write the post

experiment in blogging: you write the post

This week I have back-to-back papers to write, limiting the time I have to post on the blog.

But I just couldn’t pass up posting this photo.

Its not exactly the kind of photo that simply stands alone – the context is everything

Here’s the photo, be sure to read the caption:

Picture 5

Israeli-Druze bride Arin Safadi, 24, departs through the United Nations buffer zone at the Quneitra crossing in the Golan Heights, to marry a Syrian-Druze groom on Septemper 25, 2008. Once she crosses into Syria, the bride is not allowed to return to Israel. (AP Photo/Dan Balilty)

Just in case you didn’t read the caption, the last sentence says, “Once she (the bride) crosses into Syria, the bride is not allowed to return to Israel.”

I have so many things that I want to say about this image . . . about marriage, willingness to leave all that is familiar for the sake of the one you love, crossing into a new kingdom, but I just don’t have the time to do it justice.

So I am going to gamble that some of you, as you look at this image and reflect on the power of what is depicted, will have what it takes to write the post for me.

Leave a comment with your reflection on the biblical themes that are embedded in the photo.

Sometime this week I will re-post the image along with the most thought provoking guest post (or posts).

Don’t let me down – the reputation of my blog (in the minds of the 6 of you who read it) hangs in the balance.

. . . . . .

[I found this image at The Big Picture … go check it out]

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

