Home > book of the week > book of the week: ‘when helping hurts’

book of the week: ‘when helping hurts’

whenhelpinghurtsUsually when I post a ‘book of the week‘ I try to post a book that I am going to be reading that week – this week is a bit different.

When Helping Hurts: How to Alleviate Poverty without Hurting the Poor … and Yourself is a book I plan on buying this week and reading ASASCAD (“as soon as seminary classes are done”) before the summer is finished.

Why this book?

Well, as Justin Taylor so helpfully pointed out, you can pick up a copy from my favorite online bookstore (WTSBooks.com) for only $4.89 – this week only!

Judging by the blurbs and by the pressing need in my community (and yours) and in our nation (“these economic times” . . . heard that before?)

Judging by and the incomprehensible needs around the world and by the deeply convicting & oft ignored biblical mandate to care for the poor . . . this is the kind of book I need to read . . . the kind of issue I need to understand . . . the kind of kingdom-concern that must be reflected in my life as a Christian.

I plan on ordering my copy and giving author Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert a hearing . . . as soon as I have an ear available to hear.

Care to join me?

. . . . .

Do you have any books that you have found helpful on the need for Christians to demonstrate the gospel through caring for the poor?

Any edifying stories you might care to share about how you (or someone you know) have tried to demonstrate care and generosity towards the ‘least of these’?

  1. Dwight Davis
    July 16, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I’m going to have to pick this up, especially at that price.

  2. Dave
    July 16, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    Thanks for the heads up. Sounds like a book everyone at City should read.

  3. antoniolee
    July 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    I’ve read Under the Overpass. It’s an awesome book. Here’s a post about it on my blog. http://antoniolee.wordpress.com/2009/07/02/book-1/

  4. Stephanie
    July 19, 2009 at 7:43 am

    The Village did a workshop in the spring called Bridges out of Poverty, based on the books by Ruby K. Payne – Bridges out of Poverty and A Framework for Understanding Poverty. I haven’t read the books, but the workshop material was helpful in that it helped you understand the culture and mindset of someone in generational poverty, so that you could help more effectively.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

