Home > coffee, Friends > the affectionate communist

the affectionate communist

This weekend I had the distinct pleasure of spending some time with my good friend Mason King.

It was one of those nights, followed by a morning stop for coffee, that was a reconnecting of a much neglected (though much beloved) friendship.

Highlights:Picture 9

  • Angus and Sir Winston
  • Jason the Crooked Tree Coffeehouse Barista
  • Paris, London, Cancer, Seminary . . . all bearing evidence of our God’s varied and surprising grace.
  • Introduction to Mason’s lovely girlfriend, Carly, who is way out of Mason’s league.
  • My new french-made Fidel Cap
  • Introduction to the ‘Affectionate Communist”
  • The scoop on The Village Church’s new plant in Dallas

All told – it was an unexpected and unplanned chance to spend time with a friend who I love. respect, and appreciate very much.

Go check out Mason’s blog – he has good things to say when he gets the chance to say them.

. . . . . . .

espressoAnd now, the recipe for the affectionate communist – my new favorite espresso beverage:

  • 2 shots of espresso, pulled in mixture with 2 packets ‘sugar in the raw’
  • 2 shots of water
  • mix
  • savor

. . . . . . .

If you could have one beverage with one ‘long lost friend’, who would it be and what would you drink?

  1. antoniolee
    June 27, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    I would meet with my best friend from elementary school, John. We haven’t seen or talked to each other much since middle school. We would enjoy two chilled bottles of Mountain Dew.

  2. convergencereview
    June 27, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    I would probably meet up with a girl named Jennifer that was my best friend from basically the time I was born until I was about 7 when she moved to North Carolina, I’ve seen her once since then when I was 13. I would probably enjoy a nice vanilla black tea, that seems like a good catching up conversation beverage.

  3. nateandhan
    June 28, 2009 at 8:27 am

    We would sit down and catch up with you, over an americano, and affectionate communist, or a pot of french pressed Casi Cielo.

  4. Sarah
    June 30, 2009 at 6:24 am

    I would have a smoothie with my best friend from college, Bayley. She moved away during my last year and we’ve had hard times talking since. She always had a smoothie maker around and in use, so I’d have her whip up something tasty we could share.

  5. Katie
    June 30, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    I’m not answering your question, but I’m commenting on your new favorite drink- someone came into our coffeeshop and asked for that the other day, I didn’t have time to try it myself but now I will have to!

  1. July 15, 2009 at 8:44 am

Leave a Reply

