Home > book of the week, books, Cultural Musings > ‘watchmen’, my first graphic novel

‘watchmen’, my first graphic novel

I didn’t really get into comic books when I was little – they just didn’t grab my attention.

As it turns out, I didn’t have any trouble getting hooked by ‘Watchmen’ – though I did have a hard time putting it down.

alanmooreA warning: if you are a big fan of  heroic good guys, sinister bad guys, and a story plot lines that end with a tidy moral resolution, this is not your kind of book.

Take a look at Alan Moore’s photo on the back cover of the novel and you will quickly realize that ‘Watchmen’ is not going to be your typical predictable storyline.  If you look at the picture and think “evil super-genius” you may not be too far from the truth.

Alan Moore is an absolute genius – a master of his trade.  As a self-styled literature buff and a newcomer to the graphic novel genre, I was blown away by the brilliance of Moore’s storytelling ability, craftsmanship of compelling characters, and the shear power of this man’s words.

The story of the Watchmen is told through comic book style graphic storyboarding brilliantly interspliced with criminal dossiers, biographical exposes, business papers snagged from the desks of corrupt businessmen, and other “non-graphic” texts that are alluded to in the narrative.

Moore weaves diverse and unexpected genres, a multiplicity of plotlines, and compelling philosophical discourse into a cohesive story that unfolds before you, well, with the morbid beauty of a mushroom cloud.

It’s incredible.  It’s genius. It’s brilliant. It’s really good.  But there is nothing good about it.

But its not bad either – what it is, from beginning to end, is fundamentally amoral.

‘Watchmen’ is incredible because of Moore’s ability to take the Spirit of our Age, the prevalence of pluralistic “your good and my good don’t have to be the same” thinking of Western postmodernism, to its ultimate logical conclusion.

And that, if your conscience can bear it, is what makes ‘Watchmen’ worth reading – and worth my writing about a couple more times.

. . . . . .

Check out Watchmen at Amazon.

watchmen1

  1. Dwight Davis
    May 27, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I read Watchmen last summer and it blew my mind. I’m not a new comer to the comic world by any means, I grew up reading Marvel comics, I could tell you the story arcs of most of the heroes and villains, I’m somewhat of a comic nerd. Watchmen is the best comic I’ve ever read. Alan Moore is my favorite comic writer. I can’t wait to talk to you about Watchmen in person.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

