Home > Wilson Stories > beth’s prank (lee’s rental car)

beth’s prank (lee’s rental car)

Two days after the accident I received a phone call informing me that insurance had approved a rental replacement vehicle.

Beth picked me up from work, Abbey securely stowed in the car seat in the back of the Kia.

Beth hopped into the passenger seat as I s-l-o-w-l-y eased my aching body into the drivers seat.

I swear that, had I been paying close attention, I would have seen the smirk on her sweet little face.

We filled the car ride with small talk, joking about picking out a Sebring convertible so that I could ride around town like Michael Scott from ‘the Office’.

Pulling up to the front of the Enterprise dealership, I had barely come to a stop when Beth threw open her door and rushed into the office with a quick, “you stay with Abbey,” blurted over her shoulder.

I knew she was up to no good.

But there was nothing I could do – nowhere to go.  I had to stay with Abbey so I just had to sit and wait.

Beth’s huge smile cut through the glare of the glass door as she pushed her way out of the Enterprise office, eyes gleaming, hardly able to contain herself from telling me to “go sign for the car, they will bring it around to the front in a couple minutes.”

I didn’t know what to expect.

I knew that she set me up, I just didn’t know how bad it was going to be.

It was bad.  Boy was it bad.

But words don’t really do it justice . . . so I took a little video to capture my rental in all its glory before returning it to Enterprise:

. . . . . .

Thanks for the Smurf Blue PT Cruiser rental Beth, you are the sweetest.

Categories: Wilson Stories Tags: ,
  1. nateandhan
    May 15, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I think this is what you get for consistently getting this song stuck in our heads in Providence…or not.

  2. Dwight Davis
    May 15, 2009 at 7:49 am

    Hearing Ridin’ Dirty at the end was wonderful. And now it’s stuck in my head again. That hasn’t happened since Providence.

    Also, I’m honored that I got to ride in the smurf blue PT.

  3. Julie Bradfield
    May 15, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    there is so much goodness here.
    – beth is so on top of her game.
    – the blue is so blue.
    – lee is face down in the parking lot talking to his camera. (is this over by target??)
    – the only thing that could really enhance the goodness here would have been to drive through that parking lot and find lee on the ground.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

