Home > Announcements, Wilson Stories > close call: lee wrecks the jeep

close call: lee wrecks the jeep

Quite the exciting day we had today!

I will post the full story and some photos tomorrow – until then, here is video evidence that the Wilson family (including the recently rolled-over Lee) is still intact:

Special thanks to:

Firestone Tires for making quality tires that kept me on the road surface until I was clear of the school bus.

Beth Wilson for being the greatest wife ever.

In all honesty, I was praying as I drove along and saw the car pull out ahead of me, then the last thing I remember clearly thinking as I swerved to miss the car (and the school bus) was “Oh, Beth!” (in an “Oh, baby, I hope I make it through this for you” kind of way).

The Smith family for feeding and caring for our hastily dropped off daughter as Beth scrambled to the scene of the accident.

Tonie Hooper for fixing the air conditioning – a true hero in this husband and father’s book (for the sake of clarification, I am 100% NOT being sarcastic in this statement, I really mean it).

Ray Van Neste for being the first person I personally knew to appear on the scene of the accident.  I didn’t get a scratch, but Ray cut himself digging through the mess of junk in my mashed up Jeep.

This is a man who is a true pastor, caring for me and watching over me in my somewhat frazzled, not-so-clearheaded attempt to hold it together and figure out what to do after you roll a Jeep 35 yards.  Truly, a good and godly man.

. . . . . . .

All the details to come tomorrow.

  1. April 29, 2009 at 6:06 am

    God is good…all the time! Praise the Lord.

  2. April 29, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Glad you are okay, Lee, praise God indeed.

  3. mamak
    April 29, 2009 at 6:38 am

    I thank our God for His mercy toward you and Beth and Abbey. I am so grateful for another glimpse of your character in this blog, Lee: Thinking about your bride in what could have been the last moments of your life. Brings to mind Another whose heart was toward the welfare of His Bride in the last moments of His life.

    Reminds me again how I prayed for a husband for Beth who would love her as Christ loves the church. I am in awe once more of how God has more than answered that prayer.

  4. logsatm04
    April 29, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Glad to hear you’re ok man. Hope you enjoy some time with the family today.

  5. Tyler G.
    April 29, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Ran in to Ronnie last night at Green Frog. I was so happy to hear that you were alright, and I’m glad that you’re a man who understands God’s grace and mercy in this event. Even though we don’t get to spend much time together, know that you and your family are a great encouragement! I’m looking forward to Advance ’09!

  6. April 29, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Oh my gosh!! Sheeesh, that is so scary, talk to some Dub-Y-R clients, they’ll tell ya! ;) So glad to hear that you are ok!! Miss you guys

  7. The Pitts Family
    April 29, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    Praise the Lord for his providence and protection! We’re so glad you’re OK and that Beth and Abby still have their husband/dad!

    Oh, and no more Jeeps. Try something that’s harder to flip next time, like an old buick or something.

    Love ya brother!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

