Home > Uncategorized > humble pie

humble pie

pregnant beth dominated the hospital. now post-pregnant beth is going to be dominating the weight room.

pregnant beth dominated the hospital. now post-pregnant beth is going to be dominating the weight room.

Beth here –

Well, since it had been six weeks I decided it was time to head to the gym.

It all started with the elliptical – the dreaded elliptical.

Let me just say something right from the start – for me, running has never been punishment but more of a pleasure.

So I thought the elliptical would be a good transition into running again. Needless to say, I also thought it was going to be easier.

So here is where it gets pathetic.

I enter in my stats into the elliptical machine and begin.

7 minutes later my heart rate was at 191.

What?!?!?!?!?!

Before I began, the friendly student worker, Aaron Gilbert, informed me my heart rate should not be above “220, minus my age” (24) which would be a maximum of 196.

Admittedly,  I thought that would be a useless piece of information because surely my heart rate would not be above 140.

Again: 191?!?!?!?

I somehow made it through 20 minutes, red faced, looking around at all the younger more fit students around me.

My pride wanted me to say, “Hey, I just had a baby, you try this.”

But I swallowed my pride and headed over to the dumbbells. (Lee gave me a workout plan)

  • I did bench press with ten pound dumbells
  • Toe raises with tens
  • Leg curl without any weight.
  • Assisted dips – I added 85 pounds, meaning I was lifting hardly anything.
  • And lastly abs (Try not having access to your ab muscles for 9 months and then doing a crunch . . . wow)

Needless to say it was a huge dose of humble pie. I don’t even know if you could consider that weight training.

But something strange happened when I left – I wasn’t bothered by it.

At this stage in life, the things I use to really value somehow seem to lose their luster. Perhaps this is the Lord’s sanctifying work on my heart.

With the birth of our daughter and and a patient wise husband , my perspective on so many things has shifted. Praise God.

All this to say, a humbling day at the gym proved to be a good litmus test of the heart.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 9, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Hey Beth, good for you. I think you did great! I run all the time and the elliptical still kicks my butt ;-)

  2. BFF
    April 9, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    Praise the Lord for the gracious gift of humility. The good news it, lifting a baby makes you REALLY strong, trust me. And the ab muscles will come back, most likely. But the really good news is, you were made to grow and carry babies, not look to look 18 forever.

    You’re a good mama, and I love you!

    Sarah

  3. jtharp
    April 9, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Well said Beth!

  4. April 9, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    My niece at Union during the tornado was Hannah Lutz. Her sister Amber graduated from Union in 2006. Here is a link to the tornado pictures my brother took: http://www.flickr.com/photos/56161958@N00/tags/tornado/

    It’s a small world!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

