three tricks

Beth here.  Well our little Abbey accomplished three big feats this week.

First, she slept through the night for the first time.

On April 1st, 2009 at 8:30 pm Abbey began her descent into dreamland and remained there until 5:00 am that morning. Yes!

While this is a very exciting thing, I cannot take much credit. I have had her on more of a structured schedule for all of three days, and then all of the sudden she decided she would sleep through the night.

I wish I could write a post about sleep training, but she did this one on her own.

My girl is getting so big (tear).

I will say I have yet to reap the benefits of her sleeping through the night.

My body has conditioned itself for 10 and half months of waking up in the middle of the night.

The first nine were due to frequent trips to the bathroom due to little Abbey resting on a little bladder and the last month and a half due to a thirsty baby.

The second great thing she did is smile – what I have been anxiously awaiting!

She smiled on command this Thursday (April 2nd) – her six week birthday. She is quite the textbook baby. Everything from arriving on her due date to smiling at exactly six weeks has occurred exactly as they say it should.

Check out these glorious pictures. They just make my heart melt. I love that she can respond with a smile.

Cheese!

dsc_0008

“Yes, I did just smile . . . don’t believe me? check this out . . .”

dsc_0011

“. . . I will do it again, just to prove I can.”

Look at these sweet cheeks. She is observing a thunderstorm outside.

dsc_0009

A note: These pictures are courtesy of Angie Roberts. Abbey and I went over to her house during the day Thursday because of bad weather (they have a basement).

If you like what you see, she would first confess that (1) her sister-in-law takes professional photos and (2) the great photos are due to the quality of the camera, not the operator, before she would take your compliment.

Lastly, I will post a video we took this morning.

Abbey followed the camera with her eyes. For those of you without children – following objects with your eyes is a learned trick, a developmental milestone, if you will.

This morning was the first time we realized she could do it.

Another note:  We do not let Abbey sleep in bed with us. We were simply enjoying our daughter after she woke up this morning. Our little one is just so sweet when she wakes up.

– Beth

  1. Mama & Papa K
    April 4, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    We LOOOOVE the pictures and our two babies! Beth you are just a wonderful mom, and Abbey is perfect!!!

    Mom & Dad

  2. April 4, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Yall have the cutest daughter in the world=)

  3. Kevin
    April 4, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    That is probably the cutest hiccup I have ever heard. Ever. Period.

  4. ally
    April 5, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Those cheeks are absolutely adorable!

  5. Grammy
    April 6, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    We just LOVE that smile!!!!!!! Grammy & Daddio

  6. Jason
    April 7, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Look at that youngin learning tricks! That’s my girl.

  7. April 10, 2009 at 5:28 am

    So I have to admit that I blog-stalk you guys! I only check on you every few days, and I’m rewarded with new pics, tricks and new-parent insights that are both entertaining and heart warming. It’s so fun to see you guys walk through being a three-man team!

  8. Amy Soeder
    April 15, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    This is absolutely the most precious video of new parental love that I have ever seen. You three are so cute together. The new discovery (trick) is so pure. Such a gift to Abbey so be able to watch her parents love for her. What a beautiful moment that you have shared with us. Thank you love to you all,
    Amy Soeder

  9. April 19, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Beth – It’s simply wonderful to see your precious Abbey! I think you were the first baby I fell in love with your very first Christmas in Waco. And it’s so fun to see you now with your own baby. You are such a beautiful Mommy! I wish you guys were closer!
    Much Love,
    Julie (Wright) Pate :)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

