Home > Around the house, Baby, raising abbey > from home: the neon baby

from home: the neon baby

[First things first, I took down the video we made for Mama K because, evidently, the microphone on my little Nikon s202 does not work – awesome.]

Jaundice – sounds awful doesn’t it?

It sounded aweful when the doctor told us yesterday (February 22) that Abbey had jaundice.

It sounded worse when the doctor described it as follows:

Jaundice is caused by immature kidneys and liver in infants, especially newborns whose mothers are breastfeeding them.  Essentially, there is a yellowing of the skin because the waste that normally causes urine to be yellow is deposited in the brain.

All I heard was “pee skin” – gross.

Fortunately, the doctor continued to explain that jaundice is a fairly normal condition for newborns who are being breastfed – a condition that usually goes away on its own as the mother continues to feed the baby, the kidney & liver function improves, and the waste passes through the baby’s urine and excrement.

In other words, the parents of babies with jaundice love poop.

I love poop. Beth loves poop. We celebrate the production and deposit of poop.

. . . . . . .

So, Abbey has jaundice – now what?

It’s a two part plan:

Part one: keep her fed and hydrated so she is passing a lot of waste.

Part two: the neon baby . . .

And, because the neon baby is so cool – here is another fun video where part one and part two of the jaundice recovery plan are combined.

. . . . . . .

I won’t leave you hanging – we went back to the doctor today and Abbey is improving.

Her bilirubin (“waste” above) level has decreased, her weight has gone up, and her coloring has improved noticeably.

Her mom and dad are very happy – very releaved.

Keep that poop coming sweet Abbey!

  1. nateandhan
    February 23, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Bilirubin…another B

  2. Kat White
    February 23, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    baby’s bottom …. two more Bs

  3. Jennifer Dixon
    February 23, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    What a precious baby!!! I wish I could see her in person. I couldn’t get the pictures to come up on this post, but I saw the pictures from the last post. Drew and I are so happy for you guys. You are going to great parents and I know little Abbey will have wonderfully home-cooked meals all her life. Drew and I reminisce over those MND nights. We miss you guys!

  4. February 24, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Micah had jaundice when he was a newborn, too. If the Dr. had explained it to me the way they explained it to you, I would’ve totally freaked out! YIKES! It really is no big deal. The worst part for me was watching them prick his little itty bitty foot every day for a week. But we, too, became obsessed with poop. Still are, actually, because he has always been a constipated kid. Isn’t that wierd how easily I talk about poop? If you have any constipation problems in your future, I’ve got quite a few tricks up my sleeve.

    I’ll be praying that little Abbey’s levels continue to decrease.

  5. Kerry
    February 25, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Sorry to hear about your little one, isn’t it just heart breaking when they are sick? I know I was beside myself when my daughter came home with jaundice, between the sleep deprivation and the constant feedings I was so run down. Happily I found Baby Insights which I used to keep track of her feedings, dirty diapers (fun!), etc. you can read about it on my blog if you are interested http://www.birthinbloom.com Hope your baby is feeling better soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

