Home > Baby, Friends, from the hospital, Pregnancy, Spotlight > from the hospital: a view from the inside (22)

from the hospital: a view from the inside (22)

Our friend Jennifer Tharp was able to spend a lot of time with us in the hospital the last two days.

She wrote a post sharing her experiences, thoughts, and some great photos (more on those later) over at her blog.

I have copied her post below.

Thank you for your friendship to us Jen.

. . . . . . .

introducing… Abbey Ruth Wilson!

That’s right. She’s here!

The last 24 hours have been such a joy… and quite a learning experience. In a birthing adventure of my own, God blessed my efforts, and I ventured to the labor & delivery room after hours even though I wasn’t technically in the immediate family. (I didn’t even have to lie or fib!)

Lee and Beth let me ask all my questions, and I got to coach Beth through three contractions while Lee was out of the room. That was just before the epidural. Therefore, I was in the room for some serious contractions. Wow. That’s all I can say about that.

Overall, it was an incredible adventure- one in which Beth was brave and strong, pleasant (almost casual at some points), and such a faithful hard worker, and where Lee was the best encourager, steady, technologically savvy, extremely caffeinated, and a great husband. These two are going to be awesome parents to Abbey. I couldn’t be more glad about her situation.

If you’d like to read more about the birthing experience, you can refer to Lee and Beth’s blog for play by play documentation.  Lee did a fabulous job keeping all the friends and family of distance informed!

…………………………………….

Here are some photos taken by my roommate, Casey Brewer, when Abbey made her first appearance among the friends (after being cleaned up and documented and such). She did an incredible job:

Wilsons

While I was holding her, she gave a slight smile/ yawn, so I declared that we’re new best friends.

new best friends

The Skageliasons became a unit last February when Matt (left) and Jonathan (right) lived with the Wilsons. Since all the grandparents and other immediate family live in TX, we were glad to serve in their stead. Matt and I took turns in the room last night while Jonathan drove in from FL.

Naturally, we took a family photo with little Abbey:

Skageliasons

This is a beautiful picture of Abbey and Lee. She relaxed when she was with him.

Abbey and Lee

………………………………….

I’m so thankful to have been a part of Abbey’s very first day! I’ll keep you updated as she grows and learns in these first few months.

Three cheers for the miracle of birth and Abbey’s first day… yay! yay! yay!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

