Home > Friends, In the News, Spotlight > spotlight: faith and fear

spotlight: faith and fear

hopkinsville_tornado_jennie_stuart_webcam_910pmHow do we deal with our fear? How does our fear deal with us?

Today a line of storms blew through Jackson, drenching the city and blowing rain and wind through the air at upwards of 50 mph.

Considering all this city has been through, a long line of storms leaving devastation in their wake and promising powerful winds is a truly fearful thing.

Everybody responds to fear in different way.

For those of you who may be out there in dorm rooms anxious about the wind and rain.  For those of you who are paralyzed by the thought of the gut wrenching conversation you need to have with your spouse . . . mom . . . best friend.  For those of you who are plagued by anxiety.

For those of you . . . here is an example of how to deal with fear – in faith:

Last night was a rough night.  Hannah had a bag packed in case weather got worse than expected.  I had my bag packed.  Our prayer time last centered around God being our Rock, Refuge, and our Fortress.  Sleep came hard.  But the promises of the Lord remain true.

Psalm 118:8-9: “It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in man.  It is better to take refuge in the Lord than to trust in princes.”

Psalm 18:1-2: “I love you, O Lord, my strength.  The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.  I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies.”

I can relate to the feelings that my good friend Lee Wilson expressed on his blog post last night, feelings of uneasiness and tense nervousness about the weather.

It is hard to put the feelings that I had last night into words.

I am living in a new place.  I have only been here since February 1.

Moving into a new place means getting used to new sounds and new light switches and adapting the habits you have of living to the new place.  The feelings that the storm created for me last night were intensified because of my new surroundings.

If something happened what would I do?  Where would I go?

It is crazy how one event can impact your thoughts, actions, and life in such a powerful way, but it can. It does.  It has.

Hannah (my fiance) and I, through reading through the Psalms together since October have relied on the words of encouragement from the writings of David many times.   I have been encouraged by Hannah’s faith and strength.  I saw and heard God’s love and mercy and protection through her last night as we talked on the phone and prayed.

Holding fast to the Scriptures.

Finding strength in the people in our life who encourage us in our trust of the Mighty One.

Sink the teeth of your soul into faith, not fear – fight for faith.

. . . . . . .

Thanks for the post Nate (‘A Feeling in my Gut‘ from Double You)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

