Home > In the News, misc thoughts > they’re not just colors anymore

they’re not just colors anymore

I don’t know if it is a guy thing, but it takes a lot for me to feel something deeply.

Maybe it is because I think too much and tend to analyze my emotions rather than feel them.

There was a time when I found an image like this to be fascinating:

main_south_tornadoes_516

Now I know better.  Now I know this image is terrifying.  I feel this – down deep.

I don’t watch the Weather channel and see rich saturated colors making their blocky journey across the radar screen anymore.

Now I see cars crumpled, family photos scattered, favorite sweaters crusted in mud, and lonely people shivering in the cold rain – wondering where their life went.

The shear brutality and utter power of these storms are what have me riveted to the television screen tonight.  I don’t feel relaxed or laid back, but anxious and aware of the urgency of what is happening on my screen.

As I watch these storms, I know that there is a minute of delay until I see a red block shift and, in that instant, another human being’s life is turned upside down.

Somehow, someway, God saw fit to speak to Job out of a whirlwind – a swirling mass of wind and violence.

I thank God that the might of the storm pales.

I thank God that I can pray in moments like these and he hears, and he acts.

So I pray.

. . . . . . .

The radar image above is actually an image of the storm line that produced the tornado that hit Union University on February 5, 2008.

Should you happen to read this post before this line of storm rolls through Jackson, Tennessee, I know there are a lot of freaked out students who would benefit from your prayer.

Thanks, friends.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. February 11, 2009 at 9:26 am

Leave a Reply

