Home > Announcements, Baby, Life at Union, Pregnancy > goodbye union: beth retires at 24

goodbye union: beth retires at 24

Only 31 years until we can start drawing benefits!

Today is Beth’s last day of work at Union University.

Starting today she is done with mere financial aid and begins focusing on comprehensive life aid for another little, squirmy human being who will soon be emerging from Beth’s body.

20090206-img_0036. . . . . . .

I have been blessed with a wonderful wife would could not be more eager to be home joyfully laboring in the duties of motherhood.

She is so excited to be home and at work on house and family that she actually got angry with me when I told her she was not allowed to do anything on Monday – that I wanted her to have a day to rest and relax before she attacked her mental list of “things to do before Abbey arrives.”

It has made me so proud as a husband to see the way that Beth’s heart has been inclined towards our home – the eagerness to love and serve our family as a mom and a wife.

I cannot imagine a woman who could possibly be as great a mom as Beth is going to be.

Abbey is a lucky little girl.

I am a lucky man to be married to a woman like Beth – a woman that I rejoice will be raising and discipling my daughter.

I hope Abbey grows up to be just like her mother.

Our house is lucky, too – I imagine we are going to have the whitest, bleachy-est bathroom floors on our block, whether I like it or not.

(I have a feeling you can be expecting another bathroom bleach scrubbing video soon – check out ‘nesting 2.0‘ if you don’t know what i am referring to).

. . . . . .

Beth left her final day working at Union with a bang – dressed really cute and packing a feisty attitude (as you can see from the photo)

I would definitely have to agree with everybody who has said “you are just the cutest pregnant lady I have ever seen.”

Wouldn’t you agree?

[Ladies, note that Beth rocked the heels until the the very end]

. . . . . . .

Here is what I would love.

I would love for you to share your advice to Beth for the next . . . day, week, maybe couple of weeks . . . as she has time to wrap up some loose ends and prepare to be a mom.

What would you have done differently? What do you wish that you could have done before your babies made their appearance?

Is there anything that you you wish you had purchased from Babies-R-Us? Not purchased from Babies-R-Us?

Ready, Set, HELP!

  1. February 6, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I also love this little lady (Beth). I can’t wait to get my hands on that new little lady in there (Abbey)!

  2. Meredith Ogden-McGovern
    February 6, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Buy a sling! I bought a Peanut Shell sling for our little boy and it was hands down the best thing I purchased! He loved to be in the sling and I still use it even though he’s 18 months. We also love the Fisher-Price baby rainforest crib toy…..it hypnotizes the baby to sleep. Total lifesaver! Good luck!

  3. devima
    February 6, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    I would have punched my husband a lot more

  4. Ally
    February 7, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Things I would’ve changed? I was so worried about getting ready and getting the room done, etc that I didn’t take much time for myself to rest and emotionally prepare for Micah’s birth. So, I would say… REST! You will be glad you did once Abbey arrives. After Abbey comes, just remember that the first 2 months are the hardest, after that, you really start to fall into your rythm and do so much more naturally. You will also find that she is falling into her rythm about that time and figuring out the whole “outside the womb” side of life.

    You guys are going to be wonderful parents… Abbey is so blessed to have the 2 of you!

  5. Mel-o-knee
    February 10, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    this is such an amazing time for you guys!
    i am pumped. come on little abbey…come on!
    so encouraging, and like everyone has said, abbey is so blessed to have the 2 of you. Praise God for great parents-to-be. Parents who set a great example.
    im excited to have a family some day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

