Home > Around the house, Wilson Stories > cracked mug, mended friendship

cracked mug, mended friendship

Don’t get ahead of yourself, don’t read this post until ‘cracked mug, broken friendship‘ is under your belt.

Seriously, don’t play games – read the original post.

You don’t want to be a “last page reader” (this is similar to a “middle brownie eater”).

[note: in the original post I miss-ordered the video clips – a problem now corrected]

. . . . . . .

I dropped my friend.  He broke, busted almost in two.

I wanted to cry. I nearly cried. I made a pathetic yelp as I saw my cherish friend fly through the air.

It was awful. I don’t even like thinking about it, even now – three days later.

Here is the scene of that fateful moment:

I did go to work, but I did not stick to my plan.

I couldn’t help it. I just couldn’t wait.

Instead of giving my beloved mug a day to rest and letting the superglue have ample (you might argue “excessive”) to set – I plunged into the fiery furnace of caffeinated trial.

And thus began the testing of my newly mended mug:

Many people have said to me, “Lee. that sucks about the mug man, but at least you can say it has more character now.”

I appreciate the commiseration and the hopefulness, but I must say that my heart doesn’t quite leap the way it once did . . . before the accident.

Don’t get me wrong, I still love my inanimate friend deeply.  I still have a true sense of satisfaction when I drink a warm cup of joe and admire it as it sits beside my laptop.

Maybe its because the sexiness has worn off and I have realized that loving my mug won’t always be easy – it will take work and special care – but I know it will be worth it.

. . . . . . .

My special thanks to Brandon Rogers, who has proved (as he has many, many times) that he is a true friend and generous man (who also happens to be a brilliant photographer, eager and ready to meet all of your photographic needs . . . bbrogers.com)

Also, if you know me then you know that I write about my mug with a genuine sadness about the damage that has been done to it, but I realize the humor of this guy loves inanimate object melodrama.

If you don’t know me, I am not crazy – and if you don’t believe me, ask my friend the mug.

  1. January 29, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Wow. If the slough-off of chemicals from the Super Glue doesn’t kill you, the stuff in that pink packet will. You’ve got a baby on the way man!

    I suggest you put your “old friend” on a shelf and talk to it like Wilson, in Cast Away, and then use Brandon’s gift as soon as it arrives. In the event you think your “old friend” will be jealous of your “new friend” you might need to exercise a degree of sensitivity. You can use this situation as practice for when you and Beth are faced with explaining to Abbey that you will not have to love her any less when the day comes when she, Lord willing, has a little brother or sister.

  1. January 29, 2009 at 9:38 am

Leave a Reply

