Home > Around the house, Wilson Stories > cracked mug, broken friendship

cracked mug, broken friendship

[note: order of videos have been appropriately corrected]

Have you ever befriended an inanimate object?

My friend Keith used to make friends with movies.  In college I developed a special affection for a worn down, cheesy “U-turn to Jesus” sign on highway 21.  Beth has a peculiar fondness for her Chi hair straightener.

The last year and a half of my life has been marked by a deep and abiding friendship for my mug.

I fell in love with it at my favorite coffee shop in Louisville – Quills Coffee & Books.

It was handmade by Norman Silva, a true ceramic artist.

I loved the earthy beauty of my friend.  He was always there with me. Every morning, every afternoon. every warm cup of aromatic coffee.  I loved the way he fit perfectly in my hand and I loved to admire his craftsmanship.

My mug was with me for many a good conversation – happy and sad.

My mug was an inanimate object, yes, but a good friend none-the-less.

I took a video because I knew that some of you would want to laugh at me . . . and some of you would want to commiserate with me:

Heartbroken, I realized how ridiculous and pitiful I was in my mourning, so I was able to laugh at myself.

But I was not willing to give up.

I would fight.  I would do whatever it took to get my friend back:

Would it work?

Could superglue patch my mug, hold up to hot liquid contents, not taste like superglue?

It was worth trying to find out.

. . . . . . .

Are there any inanimate friends who enrich your life?

Is it okay to mourn material loss?  To be saddened by the loss or destruction of some “thing” that you own?

Where is the line between appreciating  material possessions and being materialistic?

. . . . . . .

Update: continue reading about the saga of my broken friend at the follow up post ‘cracked mug, mended friendship

  1. January 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Every time I re-read Pride and Prejudice it is like catching up with an old friend. So, I suppose I am friends with a story.

  2. Stephanie
    January 27, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    The book that affected me the most during my architectural schooling was House As a Mirror of Self, which used Jungian philosophy to talk about how people relate to their surroundings (and objects). Its a fascinating read about how we project our self-image onto things like home, clothes, and cars.

    Personally, I don’t think there is anything wrong with being attached to inanimate objects. Its recognizing the beauty of creation, and as long as that ‘worship’ makes it’s way back to the ultimate creator, I think we’re good.

  3. Brandon
    January 27, 2009 at 7:53 pm

    Leeland,

    I am so sad for you. I know that nothing could replace that mug…

    …except for another awesome one made by the same guy.

    I checked with Sunergos today, and they’ll have some more coming in. I got you covered big man. Dry those tears and embrace life again. One will come your way in the mail asap.

    Brandon

  1. January 28, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Leave a Reply

