Home > misc thoughts, Spotlight > spotlight: much needed name change

spotlight: much needed name change

There is little worse than a bad last name – the kind of name that . . .

  • makes you cringe every time you say it.
  • causes you to wonder if a girl would reject the guy’s request for a date – fearful that she may fall in love and have to take his name
  • leads to a conversation including the words “if your last name was . . . would you change it?”

I randomly ran across one such name.

Here is the quote from the undisclosed blog post, written by an undisclosed author, about an unfortunately surnamed family:

Had the chance to hangout with two out of town couples who are great friends of ours today. The Knipples from down in Gatorland and the Braddocks from St. Augustine. They are awesome friends and we miss them a bunch.

Is it humanly possible to look into another human being’s eyes and say “Hey, Bob Knipples, how is your week going? – all without collapsing into a fit of hysterics?

. . . . . . .

If your last name was Knipples, would you change it?

Have you encountered any last names that rival Knipples in terms of “changeability”?

  1. January 26, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Wow, no last name like, but at my old company there was a guy named Tony Estes, which is very innocent at first. But my company does email by the first letter of your name and then your whole last name, mine being lgentry. I’ll let you put that together regarding Tony.

  2. Brandon
    January 26, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Wow…maybe I’d just remove the “n”.

    Or maybe, if I was more secure in the gospel, I would deal with it and just laugh every time I introduced myself.

  3. January 26, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    There was a John Raper in our old neighborhood. I wondered if he had trouble getting dates.

  4. Stephanie
    January 26, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    One day back in high school I was walking to dog, and I noticed one of those cute little ceramic tiles embedded in the mailbox of a neighbor, with the last name Hurlbutts in cute cursive letters.

  5. Audrey Lauren
    January 27, 2009 at 1:54 am

    yes, i would change it. “Fuchs” would be an unfortuanate last name. oh, this is Jen, by the way, the computer made me sign in as Audrey.

  6. Audrey Lauren
    January 27, 2009 at 1:58 am

    Also, my grandma’s last name was Seamens and it’s my dad’s code word at the bank so everytime he goes to the counter they ask him his secret question and everyone gives him dirty looks because all they see is some middle aged man walking up to the counter and saying “semen”. he thinks it’s really funny though because he could change the question to something else if it actually embarrassed him.(again, it’s Jen)

  7. leewilson7170
    January 27, 2009 at 8:26 am

    wow.
    these are some amazing names, coupled with incredible circumstances.
    thank you all for being my friends and providing me with these gifts.

  8. overdinner
    January 29, 2009 at 12:34 am

    lee- i laughed so unexpectedly when i came across the name knipples that i spit a little bit on my previously un-spit-upon laptop. seriously.

    i have a small unfortunate name story for ya: dinner: me, a single guy, and a married couple. i mention a friend with an odd last name. the married guy asks for clarification, “did you say hymen?” i smirk and say, “no,” the name is somewhat different. married guy adds, “well it could be worse- her first name could be tara.” me and couple snort. single guy says, “i don’t get it.” then i fell out of my chair. the single guy was cody k.

    (this is cassie harris by the by)

  9. January 29, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Both Maggie and I have had our names mistyped, only to turn out with tickets/forms/receipts for a Dave and Maggie Anisworth. Classy.

  10. February 3, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Hey,
    I stalk your blog sometimes. :) But I know your wife, and I met you once, so I guess that’s allowed. And I love the Peeks (both sets) that you love. And I think your photography is cool.
    But the point of this comment… is MY name.
    Here was my maiden name, no joke. Jamie Moore.
    Here is my middle name. Catherine. (Think of the first initial.)
    Here is my new last name since I married the love of my life. Butts.
    Yup. It’s true.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

