Home > book of the week, Book Teaser, Church, Cultural Musings, Death by Love > death by love: bloody new covenant

death by love: bloody new covenant

I had a choice – go back to where I left off my blogging about ‘Death by Love‘ by Mark Driscoll, or pick up where I am reading right now.

The idea of going back and reviewing the first couple of chapters felt stale to me (that’s my fault, not the book’s), so I decided to begin with what has me most fired up.

. . . . . . .

Before I even get to the book, I am internally compelled to highlight the incredible artist behind the images in this book.

Raw, stark, and beautiful, the charcoal images complement the contents of the book in a way that is agonizingly beautiful.

While reviewing Christopher Koelle’s website, I encountered an illustration from John Piper’s poem ‘Job’ that is simply stunning.

I wanted to start with that image.  Look at it for a while.  Think about it.

Art can enhance our appreciation of God’s work on our behalf, stirring us to heartfelt & heartbroken worship of the magisterial mercy of God.

This is one of those images:

© 2009 Christopher Koelle

© 2009 Christopher Koelle

(Please check out Christopher Koelle’s other work – and feel free to purchase his artwork)

. . . . . . .

On second thought, I am going to leave it at that for the moment.

I don’t need to change the title to the post or even drop the references to ‘Death by Love‘ – these things all fit together perfectly.

As you will see. Soon enough.

. . . . . . . .

What do you think of the incorporation of art into the Church’s worship of God?

It’s, obviously, a highly controversial subject – have you seen it done well? Not so well?

I’m eager for your answers.

. . . . . . . .

deathbylove1

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

