Home > Music > suggested listening: new bon iver

suggested listening: new bon iver

Maybe I have sold you on Bon Iver already, maybe not.  Or maybe you scooped me and were already a Bon Iver fan.

Here is a little suggested listening, a rare gem of a YouTube clip that only you and your closest 100.000+ friends have listened to.

If you like Bon Iver, you will appreciate this – if not, my apologies:

“Blue Tulip” is a song by Okkervil River, a band I am reading up on and becoming more interested in.  They call Austin, Tx their home – which gives them an advantage in my book.

More on that later, if they make the cut, or you can do you own digging at www.okkervilriver.com.

. . . . . . .

I am still waiting for you to share some of your secret musical gems with me.

Go ahead, do it. name them. name them now. don’t wait, do it, do it now . . . 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 . . . do it, type it, what are you waiting for? do it now.

  1. LD
    January 15, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    I recently discovered Bon Iver as well… what a crazy fool! Who spends an entire winter in a random cabin in Wisconsin? Anyway, I thought I’d share a few of my favorites at the moment, although none are nearly as obscure as Bon Iver.

    A Fine Frenzy – One Cell in the Sea
    Eric Hutchinson – Sounds Like This
    Paolo Nutini – These Streets
    Michelle Featherstone – ok really I just like the song We Are Man and Wife, but I’m sure her other stuff is also good.

    There. I shared.

  2. Brandon
    January 15, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    I’m not so cool, so I don’t have any “up-and-comers” (you took my only one in Brooks Ritter). But here are some of my favorites as of late:

    1. Fleet Foxes – my favorite album to date. The progression of the songs is genius.
    2. Grizzly Bear – a couple songs off of the “Friend” album; I don’t know much else about them
    3. Beirut – these guys have been out for a long time, but I just got into them this past year. I dig them a whole lot.
    4. Band of Horses – I have stuff from both albums (“Cease to Begin” and “Everything All the Time”). Good stuff if you can deal with a high voice.

    Bon Iver would also be on there, but you’ve got him covered well enough.

  3. January 16, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Also coming out with a new album week with Bon Iver is Andrew Bird. “Plasticities” and “Simple X” are among my favorites.

    Following in the line of violinists and looping-fanatics, I came across Emily Wells a few weeks ago, and watching videos of her perform is pretty entertaining as she creatively layers her songs piece by piece. “Symphony 1: In the Barrel of a Gun” is the song that brought me to purchase her album.

    Hope it is warmer than -1 today.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

