Home > Around the house, Baby, raising abbey > housing abbey: your nursery sneak peek

housing abbey: your nursery sneak peek

Are you ready for this?

We have been working hard getting the nursery ready in preparation for Abbey’s arrival, and we wanted to share some of our progress with you.

[Take a couple deep breaths so you don’t get a heart palipitation from all the excitement]

Here’s the teaser:

You could say it is a shadow of things to come.

. . . . . . .

Question from Lee: why is it that we feel compelled to decorate with pastels in baby rooms?  Are we afraid we will hurt their little delicate eyes if they see too many bright colors?

I have never been able to figure this out.

Also, any thoughts on beards and/or mustaches?

  1. Julie
    January 8, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    What a tease! The people want more!! Those little dresses are the cutest! Beth, I cannot believe she gets to wear your dresses–that is the BEST! I can’t wait to see the rest of the nursery–I know it is going to look amazing and I cannot wait to meet Abbey. Lee, I read in Pottery Barn Kids the other day that it is actually really good for babies to have strong contrast (like black and white toys) because it stimulates brain development–so, who knows why we do pastels!

  2. January 8, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    My reason for Grace’s pastels: 1) I like them because I think they are soft and pretty, and 2) in a nursery is the only legitimate use of pastels for decorating. Although I do like baby furniture that is dark wood, as opposed to white. Personal preference.

    Sarah

  3. January 8, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Lee: I know that this is a deeply personal matter, and I will understand completely if you disagree, but for me, I think Abbey will look much better without either a mustache or a beard.

  4. Jen
    January 9, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    i’m gonna go with no beard or mustache for Abbey and it’s not nice to tease people,I don’t like it. :)

  5. Jen
    January 9, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    also, i think the pastels are because those colors are gentle and tender just like babies. it would be creepy to put a baby in a room with harsh colors like balck or blood red, well, at least most prople would find that odd. i dunno.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

