Home > Baby, books, parenting, Wilson Stories > raising abbey: giving the gift of memories

raising abbey: giving the gift of memories

I know, cut me some slack.

Beth and I have been putting some serious mileage on the Kia in our Christmas Road Trip of Pregnant Bliss and I think the tryptophan from the Christmas turkey has not only made me sleepily, but short on worthwhile blogging ideas.

I have some stuff coming down the pike, warming up in the bullpen, strolling up to the on-deck circle, layering on the makeup and squeezing into the clown car . . . so brace yourself.

oldhands-babyIn the meantime . . .

As you know by now, Beth and I have spent the better half of the last 8 months of our lives thinking about parenting.

In other words, we have been trying to figure out who you raise a kid to love Jesus and  not be really screwed up – important things, I think we can all agree.

This Christmas, we tried to give our families gifts that were about more than having a new possession to add to our collection of things.

Instead, we wanted to give the gift of experiences and memories to be shared with little Abbey Ruth when she finally makes here big appearance in February (if you ask Beth, January sounds pretty awesome about now).

I found a really great bundle of amazing children’s books at Westminster Bookstore before Christmas, so I ordered ‘The Prince’s Poison Cup‘ and ‘Sammy and His Shepherd: Seeing Jesus in the 23rd Psalm‘ and gave them as gifts to Abbey’s great grandpas.

I wanted to give them special books that they could read to their little great grandbaby girl and have memories of turning the pages, reading the stories, and helping the little one to know and love Jesus.

I wanted to give my little girl every opportunity to always remember her great grand-daddys; to see their wrinkled hands turn the pages of these special books, to hear their voices as the read, to see their loving smiles creasing their kind faces, and to be able to recall two men who helped her to know and love Jesus.

I want to always be able to tell her the story or how her great grand fathers read them the story about the Story.

I want Abbey to remember the smell of coffee on their breath when her mama and I read her these special books when her grandpas are gone … in Kerrville … in Kingwood … in heaven … with Jesus.

I think that this idea will pervade the best of our family Christmases to come, the idea of giving the gift of a memory.

Our hope is that our little girl would grow up cherishing people, rather than possessions.

Our prayer for Abbey is that she would grow up seeing the things that she owns as a means of loving, serving, engaging, experiencing, playing, cherishing, and enjoying the people in her family, church, and city – not that she would see people as the means by which she can get more things.

. . . . . .

Help us out: when you think about your childhood, what do your most cherished memories revolve around? Is is the people you love?  The stories (true ones) about Jesus that you heard? Or was it the gifts that you received?

What would you do differently if you had it to do all over again?

(This is not a trick question, or a hypothetical one, drop a comment and help a daddy out)

  1. Jen
    January 2, 2009 at 1:34 am

    One of my most treasured memories with Christmas is my great-granddad. He would bake pecan rolls Christmas morning and our whole family would gather around the fire place in Michigan. Every year he would pull out his old Bible and hand it to someone to read the story of Christ’s birth- he chose someone else each year. I will never forget the year he picked me! We had gifts, but they were never the main focus of the day. Recently the Christmas season has become a little less about just my family to me and more about other people’s families. This past Christmas Eve some of us at church were able to load up coats and toys, etc and take them to the refugees and others in need downtown- I have never had a more blessed holiday season! It is one thing to read the story of Christ’s birth every year, but to actually be able to see the Lord bless and clothe others through my family and church family was so exciting. I think the best Christmas “tradition” you can instill with family is giving to others as a family unit and allowing her to be a part of that and see you and Beth do that from a very young age. Love ya’ll!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

