Home > Music > music gratis: Bon Iver ‘myspace transmissions’

music gratis: Bon Iver ‘myspace transmissions’

Free music. Everybody loves free music.

If you know good music, then you know Bon Iver.

boniver

Combine the two and you get “Free Bon Iver” – and I’m not taking about a overplayed name for a charity music festival.

If you are one of my friends who are musically out of the loop, here is your chance to get in the loop and have a band name and some fun facts to drop on those hipster music-types that intimidate you.

I am not usually into quoting reviews as if they serve as legit musical “street cred” – I would rather just listen to an album and make up my own mind.

In the case of Bon Iver’s breakout album, however, I think that Paste Magazine was right on in naming “For Emma” the 4th best album of the year.

Here’s what they have to say about it:

#4. Bon Iver For Emma, Forever Ago [Jagjaguwar]
Justin Vernon’s rags-to-riches story only adds to the beautiful depth of this folky debut. Stitched together during a self-imposed winter isolation in a Wisconsin cabin, this nine-song heartbreaker brims with a quiet intensity and a hushed vibrato that’s raw and addictive enough to leave Sam Beam jealous.

Have no idea what that means of who Sam Beam is?  You need to download Bon Iver’s ‘MySpace Transmission EP‘ and start developing some solid musical chops.

Not ready for the commitment of a download?  Listen to “Skinny Love”, my favorite Bon Iver song:

Now you understand.  So click on the link below and get four free songs from Bon Iver – you can thank me later.

DOWNLOAD THE FREE SESSION EP

. . . . . .

Props: I got love for Taylor Worley over at ‘Making Sense of It All‘.

T-Wizzle, thanks for turning me on to Bon Iver and keep the free music scoops coming.

  1. December 17, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    We went to the Bon Iver concert tonight at Headliners. That dude (and his band) was legit. It was really good music. “The Tallest Man on Earth” opened for him, and he was great as well (although I liked him better live than I did his album on iTunes).

    Paste’s comment about leaving Sam Beam jealous is a mouthful…I’m not sure I can go that far. It takes a lot to out-haunt the subtle, breathy, ghoulish singing of ol’ Sammy. But I’m biased — I could listen to Iron & Wine all day and never get tired. Let’s call it a tie.

  2. Brandon
    December 17, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    Also, that was Brandon…not Bethan.

  3. Mel-o-knee
    December 18, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    dang, everyone went to that amazing concert last night.
    if only jason could have waited one more day to come home from africa, sheesh.

  4. December 19, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Such a great song. If you’re looking for great free music, subscribe to the All Songs Considered Live Concert Podcast on iTunes and then download their old concerts. I have free, full-length concerts on my iPod for Radiohead (2+ hours!), RaRaRiot, Fleet Foxes, Brandon’s precious Explosions in the Sky and Iron and Wine, and your Bon Iver, and others. I also subscribe to the All Songs Considered show, which is excellent. I love Bob Boilen.

  1. December 19, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Leave a Reply

