Home > Cultural Musings, Music, television > this is not a joke (though i wish it was)

this is not a joke (though i wish it was)

I am going to reserve comment until I get over my “bad music, cheesy lyrics, horrible production, sentimental theology, bad haircut, for the love of all that is holy” projectile vomit induced migraine.

Brace yourself, this is not for the feint of heart:

Honestly, I don’t really even know where to begin.

heidimontagspencerpratt

heidi & spencer pratt

Probably the clearest insight as to my mental state after having stumbled across this video on cable TV is that I actually became very happy when we changed channels to watch the new episode of “The Hills” on MTV.

I am not sure which is a grosser depiction of the gospel – this video or the marriage of Heidi Montag to Spencer Pratt?

If you don’t know the reference, you’re not missing anything – so don’t worry about it.

. . . . . . .

Update: I just watched the video again.  I am not coming any closer to a resolution on my previous question.

I keep thinking to myself … is it worse to sing a song about Jesus that uses the cheesy metaphor of a prepaid cellphone to refer to prayer? Or, is it the really sad TV couple, led by the manipulative Pratt, getting wasted drinking Patron tequila and entering into a marital union designed to say something about Christ’s love for his church?

Can anybody help me out here?

Update (again): Evidently this video is filmed in the Nashville airport.  Thanks for the heads up Dwight Davis.

  1. Benjamin Ferrell
    December 16, 2008 at 6:24 am

    Love it.
    She rolls in her fancy car.
    Hands free at that.
    I love the waterfall scenes.
    “Jesus is a friend of mine” by Sonseed has better music.
    Didn’t quite care for the hairdo.

  2. December 16, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Wow. I can’t even think of anything witty to say….Wow.

  3. December 16, 2008 at 8:56 am

    cool.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

