Home > Church, City Fellowship Church, Scripture > “seeing but not seeing”

“seeing but not seeing”

We all have eyes.brokenglasses

We, all, are blind.

I should be spending the time it takes to write these words on finishing my paper on sexual ethics, but I found myself distracted by thinking about my time at City Fellowship Church here in Jackson yesterday (Sunday).

I love Pastor Russ, he is a man I look up to very much and whose insight I thank the Lord for with some frequency.

In Matthew 13, Jesus’ disciples are baffled by their rabbi’s use of parables to teach the people of Israel.  In their confusion they come to him and ask him to explain himself. His response:

“To you it has been given to know the secrets of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it has not been given. For to the one who has, more will be given, and he will have an abundance, but from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. This is why I speak to them in parables, because seeing they do not see, and hearing they do not hear, nor do they understand” (v11-13)

The crowd could see perfectly well, but they could not see what was right before their eyes – clear as day and in their face.

They missed it.  Sound familiar?

We are no better than they and, like the disciples, we desperately need Christ to interpret and explain everything to us.

We think we understand.  We think we’ve got it down.  We think that our eyesight is crystal clear and our reasoning, infallible.

We are wrong and, as Russ reminded the church that gathers at the little yellow building on the corner of E. Main and Royal, we have blindspots.

We have blindspots as individuals.  We have blindspots as a congregation.  We have blindspots as movements of like-thinking and like-living Christians.

That leaves me with three thoughts rolling around in my head:

  • Who is in the car with me, sitting with a different vantage point so that their blindspots and my blindspots don’t line up and become our blindspots?  Who is travelling with me who can see around the corners and identify sin and danger that I will easily overlook?
  • Is my study of the Scripture, which is infallible, left up to my own understanding, which is not? Or, do I constantly submit myself in utter dependency upon to One who is all seeing, all hearing, all knowing, and all merciful to share His perfect wisdom with me?
  • And, lastly, here is Russ’ question that may help us to peek around the corners to see things we may currently by blind to: “Where has our culture/family/history/experience given us an unthinking sense of ‘normalcy’?

Well, let’s not leave that as a rhetorical question.  Please, if you have any, I would love to hear your thoughts about blindspots – personal, cultural, religious, or whatever.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

