Home > Politics > Palin: putting some ‘new’ in the ‘grand old party’

Palin: putting some ‘new’ in the ‘grand old party’

 

Sarah Palin

Sarah Palin

I don’t consider myself a devotee of any party or candidate – I am not particularly thrilled with any of the options before me.

As I sit and listen to Gov. Sarah Palin, Republican candidate for Vice President, I cannot help but wonder if the Republicans really get how important Palin is.

The bottom line, as I see it, is that Palin is the only hope that the Republican party has to remain in office.  She is the reinvigorating force, the solitary sign of life and vibrancy within the party.  

Can you think of any other Republican that could be said to have “positive charisma” or any degree of “hug-ability factor”?  Can you think of anybody who you would want to sit down and have dinner with?  Anybody who you would enjoy watching your favorite sitcom with?  

I am no political aficionado, but I cannot think of anybody.

Even watching this speech, listening to the crowd’s chants, boo’s, and white-breadness, the only semblance of charm and intrigue is Sarah Palin.

I wonder if these people know how much they need Sarah Palin?

I wonder if they realize how much better off they would be if they carried their political platforms with a Palin-ian charm?

I think it is some time to bring some newness to the Grand Old Party.

  1. Tilly
    September 6, 2008 at 7:02 am

    You are so right….she, along with Louisiana Governor Jindal, are the future of the GOP. They are young, exciting conservative leaders who can communicate conservative ideas to the younger generation, not the stereotypical old boring men who tend to make up the party’s leadership. Even if McCain/Palin lose this election, I am excited to see leaders in my party like Palin and Jindal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

