Home > Uncategorized > "But What About…Jesus as Myth?"

"But What About…Jesus as Myth?"

Back in the day, my good friend G.D. brought up a very important question for us to investigate. Her inquiry focused on who Jesus claimed Himself to be. Did Jesus ever claim to be God? Did Jesus ever say He was the Messiah? What exactly did Jesus say about Himself?

Well, as time permits, I will be looking into the Bible to provide answers to just that question.

My method will be as follows:

In answering this particular question, we will be focused in on the words of Jesus of Nazareth, as written in the Gospel accounts of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. The Gospel of John will be, largely, the focus of our discourse, and the principle book we will be looking at.

Keep in mind, however, that though we are focusing on the word Jesus spoke, we are not, by any means, implying that the accounts of Jesus’ teachings and miracles are superior to the rest of the Bible. The Old and the New Testament are fully and equally inspired by the Holy Spirit from Genesis to Revelation. The Bible is inerrant and infallible, without defect and a complete account of the written revelation of God. That might step on some of your toes, and I can field questions on that if you like, but I will not budge on that absolute truth.

So, get ready for some great threads and, hopefully, some quality discussion. I have been fighting to be more diligent in writing and I hope to post at least a couple of times a week as we press onward.

Let me begin with a passage from the Bible, posted without comment, for you to read and to process:

John 8:49-59

Jesus answered, “I do not have a demon, but I honor my Father, and you dishonor me. Yet I do not seek my own glory; there is One who seeks it, and he is the judge. Truly, truly, I say to you, if anyone keeps my word, he will never see death.”

The Jews said to him, “Now we know that you have a demon! Abraham died, as did the prophets, yet you say, ‘If anyone keeps my word, he will never taste death.’ Are you greater than our father Abraham, who died? And the prophets died! Who do you make yourself out to be?”

Jesus answered, “If I glorify myself, my glory is nothing. It is my Father who glorifies me, of whom you say, ‘He is our God.’ But you have not known him. I know him. If I were to say that I do not know him, I would be a liar like you, but I do know him and I keep his word. Your father Abraham rejoiced that he would see my day. He saw it and was glad.”

So the Jews said to him, “You are not yet fifty years old, and have you seen Abraham?”

Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am.”

So they picked up stones to throw at him, but Jesus hid himself and went out of the temple.

This passage is HUGE, read it and think about it. In fact, read the entirety of John, that can be your homework for the next two days. I look forward to more discussion!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. focalelement
    September 9, 2005 at 8:18 pm

    I had to delete a couple of spammer comments trying to use my blog to advertise…not gonna happen. But don’t fret, it wasn’t anything of importance.

    Lee

  2. C.A.M.
    October 6, 2005 at 2:57 am

    This passage is a key element in showing exactly who Jesus said He was. By the very reaction of the Jews, we understand that Jesus was saying He was the God of the burning bush in Exodus.

  3. kazu
    October 22, 2005 at 7:05 am

    it’s a great thought that brings me back to my roots to re-analyze the Bible’s validity and the remaining possibilities (e.g. thinking about public and political response to Jesus’ miracles and message).

  4. cpuaggie
    May 5, 2006 at 7:01 am

    Ok, I think it’s time to post, Lee:)

  1. August 23, 2008 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

